Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Central African Republic
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for the Central African Republic. Please scroll down to view.

The Central African Republic is a landlocked country located in the heart of Central Africa. The Central African Republic currently celebrates 14 national holidays each year. These holidays are regulated by Decree 96-156 signed into law on May 14, 1996. This Decree overrides all previous decrees concerning national holidays.

The government of Central African Republic has recently added two national holidays to their list of publicly celebrated holidays each year. These additions are currently being made as yearly posts by the government until an official Decree is made establishing the End of Ramadan and the Feast of Sacrifice holidays as national events.

It is believed that national holidays in Central African Republic are just non-working days that are guaranteed days off for all workers. No documentation can be found to determine if workers are guaranteed pay for these days off. References to government employees receiving payment for holidays have been found, but not confirmed.

The government of Central African Republic has given itself the power to create additional holidays each year either as one-time or reoccurring holidays. However, these laws can only become official if they are part of an official decree. At this time, turmoil within the government has prevented many decrees from becoming official.

Some of the holidays celebrated in Central African Republic are religious holidays that are celebrated on different dates each year. These celebration dates are based on the lunar cycle. The government requires all employers to recognise these holidays each year, regardless of which dates they occur.

Holidays based on the lunar cycle are announced for their official dates by the Ministry of Labor at the end of each year for the following year. Muslim holidays that are based on the lunar calendar are based off of the Umm al-Qura calendar of Saudi Arabia. These dates are calculated by when the lunar sighting occurs over Mecca and may be celebrated on different dates throughout the world

Linguistic, Cultural and Religious Holidays

There are over 80 languages spoken in Central African Republic, and even more cultural groups. Many of these linguistic and cultural groups have their own celebrations that take place each year. The government of Central African republic acknowledges these events but does not recognise them as national holidays.

Additionally, many of the people within this country still adhere to religious and cultural beliefs that are tied to the continent. These indigenous beliefs have many celebrations that are not the same as national holidays. The government does not recognise these events and employers are not required to provide special days off for any of these celebrations.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
29 MarWedBarthelemy Boganda Day
17 AprMonEaster Monday
1 MayMonLabour Day
25 MayThuAscension Day
5 JunMonWhit Monday
25 JunSunKorité / End of Ramadan
30 JunFriPrayer Day
13 AugSunIndependence Day
15 AugTueAssumption Day
1 SepFriTabaski / Feast of Sacrifice
1 NovWedAll Saints' Day
1 DecFriNational Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day