Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Comoros. Please scroll down to view.

The Union of the Comoros is an island nation consisting of three large islands and several smaller volcanic islands in the Indian Ocean. Comoros is located near Madagascar and the east coast of Africa. At this time it is believed that Comoros has 10 nationally celebrated holidays. However, it should be noted that there is conflicting information posted from the different government offices on Comoros and there may be as many as 13 national holidays.

The government of Comoros is designed very differently than most presidential governments. There is a president elected for each of the three islands and each president “takes a term” being the overall president. Because of this system, there is a lot of conflicting information posted about national holidays and the laws surrounding them.

According to one source, public holidays are regulated und the Labor Code of 1984 and only the 10 listed holidays below are included. These holidays are mandatory days off for everyone in the working sector, but the only reference to them being a paid holiday s for government employees.

However, there are references on the other islands that the Labor Code has been updated in 2012 and that three additional holidays are included. However, this document is only referenced and cannot be accessed for review to confirm this information.

The government of the Comoros is based on the Muslim faith and a majority of the public holidays are in celebration of this faith. Some of these celebrations are several days long. Many of these holidays are celebrated on different days each year based on the lunar cycle. The government of Comoros announces their celebration dates at the end of each year for the following year. Businesses are obligated to honour these holidays.

Cultural and Religious Holidays

About one percent of the population of Comoros is French. This portion of the population is predominantly Catholic. There are many religious based holidays that are celebrated among this group. The government of Comoros, however, does not acknowledge these holidays.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
18 MarSatCheikh Al Maarouf Day
24 AprMonLeilat al-Meiraj / The Prophet's Ascension
1 MayMonLabour Day
25 JunSunId al-Fitr / End of Ramadan
26 JunMonId al-Fitr / End of Ramadan
27 JunTueId al-Fitr / End of Ramadan
6 JulThuNational Day
1 SepFriId al-Kabir / Feast of Sacrifice
2 SepSatId al-Kabir / Feast of Sacrifice
21 SepThuIslamic New Year / Muharram
12 NovSunJournée Nationale Maoré
30 NovThuThe Prophet's Birthday