Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Gabon. Please scroll down to view.

The Gabonese Republic, or Gabon, is a Central African country located on the Atlantic coast. Gabon currently celebrates 12 national holidays. Many of these holidays are based on religious beliefs and may occur at different times each year. Each year the government of Gabon, through its Ministry of Labour, releases the official dates for the national holidays to be celebrated for the following year.

Public holidays are regulated by Decree number 000484/PR/MTE Issued 26 May, 2004. This Decree eliminates all previous decrees regarding public holidays in Gabon. This Decree establishes the 12 national holidays and states that these are all non-working holidays. It also provides the government with the ability to create additional one-time national non-working holidays for special occasions.

The Labor Laws of Gabon state that all employees are guaranteed a day off for national holidays. If the scope of their work requires them to work on those days, they are guaranteed a day off in lieu of the holiday. It is believed that many employment contracts provide for paid days off for public holidays or premium pay if the holidays are worked, but this is based on individual contracts and not required under the law.

Religious holidays that are based in the Muslim faith are calculated using the lunar cycle and the Umm al-Qura calendar of Saudi Arabia. However, these dates may differ from those celebrated in different parts of the world because the holidays begin upon the sighting of the moon in that area.

Cultural and Religious Holidays

There is a large portion of the population that identifies with religious beliefs that are closely associated with the continent of Africa. These religious beliefs have many holidays and celebrations that take place each year. The government of Gabon does not recognise these events as public holidays and does not require employers to provide days off to attend these celebrations.

Other religious or cultural based celebrations take place throughout the country. The government does not recognise any other national holidays than those that are stated in the official Decree.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
17 AprMonWomen's Day
1 MayMonLabour Day
25 MayThuAscension
5 JunMonWhit Monday
25 JunSunAid el-Fitr / End of Ramadan
15 AugTueAssumption Day
16 AugWedNational Day
17 AugThuNational Day
1 SepFriAid el-Kabir / Feast of Sacrifice
1 NovWedAll Saints' Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day