Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Madagascar. Please scroll down to view.

The Republic of Madagascar is an island nation located off of the east coast of Africa. Madagascar currently celebrates 13 national holidays. However, 3 of these holidays are celebrated only by specific groups of people.

Public holidays in Madagascar are regulated under “Decret 62-150 du 28 Mars 1962 Determinant les Modalities de application du repos hebdomadaire des jours feries chomes et payes Chapter 22 and 28”. Chapter 22 names the official public holidays of Madagascar and Chapter 28 gives the government the authority to move the celebration of any holiday falling on a Sunday to the following Monday.

Additional decrees have established 3 new holidays. These holidays are specific to certain groups and are only celebrated by those groups of people. Employers are required to provide special time off for people who fall under these distinctions for these holidays.

The Madagascar labour law is not available at this time for public use. However, public holidays are a guaranteed day off from work. It is not known if employers are required to pay employees on public holidays. It should be noted that government employees do receive holiday pay.

The Government Council releases an official list of non-working holidays each year. In most cases, this list is published in the end of December. However, it can be published as late as mid-January.

Regional, Cultural, Dialect, and Religious Holidays

Madagascar has a very diverse culture and many parts of the island still live in tribal centres. Many of these tribes have their own language and follow indigenous religions. These cultures have many special holidays and celebrations throughout the year. The government of Madagascar acknowledges that these celebrations take place but does not recognise them as national holidays.

There are also several holidays that are celebrated within the larger religions found on Madagascar. The government only acknowledges those holidays in the list above and not any others. Employers are not required by law to accommodate employees for any non-national holidays.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
8 MarWedWomen's Day
(Women only)
29 MarWedMartyrs' Day
16 AprSunEaster
17 AprMonEaster Monday
1 MayMonLabour Day
25 MayThuAscension Day
4 JunSunWhit Sunday / Pentecost
5 JunMonWhit Monday
25 JunSunId al Fitr
(Muslims only)
26 JunMonIndependence Day
15 AugTueAssumption Day
1 SepFriId al Adha
(Muslims only)
1 NovWedAll Saints' Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day