Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Mayotte. Please scroll down to view.

The Department of Mayotte is an insular department and region of France. Located in the Indian Ocean south of Madagascar, Mayotte is an island group that is also part of the Comoros Islands. Mayotte is one of the smallest departments of France, measuring only 144 square miles.

Mayotte currently celebrates 15 national holidays. Only 13 of these holidays are official under the laws of France, and only two of these holidays are local celebrations, with the remaining 11 holidays the same as those celebrated in France. Currently there is legislation that is being reviewed in Mayotte that will change seven of the 11 French holidays into new holidays that are more locally significant. If this occurs, the two unofficial holidays that are observed in Mayotte will become part of these national dates.

Public holidays are regulated by Labor Code 222-1 of Mayotte. This law states that only four of the public holidays are considered paid non-working dates and all other holidays are just non-working dates. Employers must comply with national holiday regulations. Employees that are required to work on a paid public holiday have the ability to have a paid day off in lieu or work at a premium rate. This decision is based on the work contract. Employees required to work on a non-paid holiday are given a day off in lieu of the holiday.

Holidays that occur on the weekend remain on the weekend. If this is a normal day off, employees do not receive pay or a day in lieu for these dates.

Some of the holidays that are celebrated in Mayotte are religious holidays that may occur on different dates each year. The government of France and Mayotte requires that all employers recognise these public holidays regardless of when they occur each year. An official publication is made at the end of each year designating which days will be celebrated in the following year.

Cultural Celebrations

There are very few people in Mayotte that do not practice the Muslim or Christian faith. However, cultural or other religious holidays may be celebrated throughout the island. The government does not recognise these events as public holidays.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
17 AprMonEaster Monday
24 AprMonMiradji / The Prophet's Ascension
27 AprThuAbolition Day
1 MayMonLabour Day
8 MayMonVictory Day
25 MayThuAscension Day
5 JunMonWhit Monday
25 JunSunId el-Fitr / End of Ramadan
14 JulFriNational Day
15 AugTueAssumption Day
1 SepFriId el-Kabir / Feast of Sacrifice
1 NovWedAll Saints' Day
11 NovSatArmistice Day
30 NovThuThe Prophet's Birthday
25 DecMonChristmas Day