Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Republic of the Congo
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for the Republic of the Congo. Please scroll down to view.

The Republic of the Congo is a country located in Central Africa. The Republic of the Congo currently celebrates 10 national holidays. A majority of these holidays are based on the Christian faith, with some varying in dates each year. Holidays that vary in date are calculated by the lunar cycle. Employers are required to acknowledge these holidays each year regardless of the date they fall upon.

National holidays in the Republic of the Congo are regulated by Loi No 2-94 du 1 er Mars 1994. This law is currently only available in French and the government only refers to this law in their publications of holiday information.

It is known that all holidays are non-working days. However, at this time, it can only be verified that government employees receive paid holidays. There are references to employers having the option to pay employees for holidays if it is in their employment contracts, but there are no laws that specifically guarantee employees outside of the government workforce pay for holidays.

It has been found that employers who need to have employees on the job during national holidays are required to provide employees with a different day off in lieu of the holiday. However, it is not known if these employees receive premium pay for the work they perform on that day.

Some of the holidays celebrated in the Republic of the Congo are based on the Christian faith. A few of these holidays are determined by the lunar cycle and the dates for these celebrations will change each year. The government of the Republic of the Congo requires that all employers acknowledge these holidays each year, regardless of the days they occur.

Cultural, Linguistic, or Provincial Holidays

The Republic of the Congo has a very diverse culture. Although French is the official language of the government there are 68 languages spoken throughout the country and many additional dialects. Many of these languages are based on specific tribes that are indigenous to specific areas of the country.

Each of these tribes, locations, or languages may be associated with their own cultural holidays. The government of the Republic of the Congo acknowledges that these events occur, but does not recognise them as official national holidays. Employers are not required to provide special days off for these events.

Additionally, there are several religions practiced within the borders of the country. Many of these are indigenous to the continent. The holidays celebrated in these religious ceremonies are not recognised as national holidays.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
17 AprMonEaster Monday
1 MayMonLabour Day
25 MayThuAscension Day
5 JunMonWhit Monday
10 JunSatReconciliation Day
15 AugTueNational Day
1 NovWedAll Saints' Day
28 NovTueRepublic Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day