Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Saint Helena
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Saint Helena. Please scroll down to view.

Saint Helena is a small volcanic island located in the South Atlantic. Saint Helena is an overseas British territory, and is part of a 3 island group of Saint Helene, Tristan da Cunha, and Ascension. Since 2009, the three islands are considered one large territory consisting of three main islands.

Saint Helene celebrates nine official public holidays. Two of these holidays are not observed on one of the other islands. Different national holidays are celebrated on Tristan da Cunha and on Ascension that are not celebrated on Saint Helene. Altogether, there are 12 national holidays celebrated in the territory.

Saint Helena and the accompanying islands are an overseas British territory, and because of this, are governed by the British laws concerning national holidays. Specific holidays to the territory have been approved by the Governor of the territory and by British Parliament.

Under British Labour Laws all employees are entitled to a paid day off for national holidays. For employees who are required to work on the holiday because of the nature of their position, employers can either pay a premium rate for their services or provide the employee a paid day off in lieu of the paid holiday.

A few of the holidays in Saint Helena are celebrated on dates based on the lunar cycle. These holidays will be celebrated on different dates each year. The government requires that all businesses observe these holidays regardless of the date on which they occur.

The government has the authority to move holiday celebrations to the following Monday for any holiday that occurs on a Sunday. The government further reserves the right to establish one-time national paid days off for special events.

This territory has a very small population, less than 4,500 people, and there are very few people that do not celebrate the same holidays. However, there may be some culturally base celebrations that are enjoyed on these islands that the government does not classify as national holidays.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year's Day Holiday
14 AprFriGood Friday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
21 MaySunSaint Helena Day
22 MayMonSaint Helena Day Holiday
25 MayMonAscension Day
(Ascension Island / Tristan da Cunha)
5 JunMonWhit Monday
19 JunMonHM Queen's Birthday
(Except Tristan da Cunha)
14 AugMonAnniversary Day
(Tristan da Cunha)
28 AugMonAugust Bank Holiday
(Except Tristan da Cunha)
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day