Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
South Sudan
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for South Sudan. Please scroll down to view.

The Republic of South Sudan is a small country located in the northeaster portion of Africa. South Sudan is a new country, only gaining independence in 2011, and currently celebrates nine national holidays. Two of these holidays are celebrated over several days.

The Labour Laws of South Sudan require employers to provide a day off for all nationally recognised holidays. All holidays are classified as non-working days, but are not guaranteed as paid days off. It is believed that at this time employees only receive payment for national holidays if it is part of their employment contract.

Some of the holidays celebrated in South Sudan change in date each year. These religious holidays are calculated on the lunar cycle. The government of South Sudan, through its Labour Ministry, issues a list of the official dates for national holidays at the end of each year for the next year. Businesses are required to acknowledge these celebration dates.

South Sudan provides two extra public holidays to those who practice the Muslim faith. Each of these days are a second day of celebration for current public holidays. Only active members of the Muslim community are entitled to these extra holidays.

Muslim holidays that use the moon to determine their celebration dates use the Umm al-Qura calendar of Saudi Arabia. Christian holidays that use the lunar cycle to determine celebration times use the Gregorian calendar to determine dates.

The government has reserved the right to add one-time or new holidays at their discretion. It is believed that additional Muslim faith based holidays will be added to the national list of celebrations.

Cultural and Religious Holidays

People of South Sudan is very diverse in their backgrounds, cultures and religious beliefs. Many of the people in this country still live within tribal settings and practice religions that are indigenous to Africa. The government of South Sudan understands that these cultural and religious celebrations take place, but they do not acknowledge them as national holidays or celebrations. Employers are not required to provide additional days off for the celebration of any of these events.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
14 AprFriGood Friday
15 AprSatHoly Saturday
16 AprSunEaster Sunday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
1 MayMonLabour Day
16 MayTueSPLA Day
25 JunSunEid al-Fitr / End of Ramadan
9 JulSunIndependence Day
30 JulSunMartyrs' Day
1 SepFriEid al-Adha / Feast of Sacrifice
24 DecSunChristmas Holiday
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueChristmas Holiday