Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Swaziland. Please scroll down to view.

The Kingdom of Swaziland is a very small country located in Southern Africa. This country is an absolute monarchy, but has a Prime Minister and appointed representatives that are selected by the King. Swaziland celebrates 12 national holidays each year.

Several of the holidays celebrated in Swaziland are based on their culture. These holidays often extend over several days, with one holiday actually taking a full 30 days to complete. These holidays are based on the lunar cycle and the dates will change each year. However, the government of Swaziland only declares one day of each of these celebrations as a national holiday.

The King of Swaziland retains full authority of nationally celebrated holidays and can add or delete holidays at will. Announcements of when lunar holidays or any changes to the holiday schedule are announced by the Ministry of Home Affairs. At this time, the announcements are made by local publication only.

The Labour Laws of Swaziland do not grant any special wages or guaranteed days off to workers for national holidays. However, the King encourages everyone to partake in these celebrations, so most people are given time off from their job.

It should be noted that there is a public law against videotaping or photographing certain culturally based holidays in the country. These celebrations are the Birthday of King Mswati III, the Umhlanga (Reed Dance), Somhlolo Day (Independence Day) and Incwala.

Cultural, Religious, and Provisional Holidays

Swaziland is a very small country, but it has a rich cultural heritage. There are several different holidays that are celebrated within the different tribes. However, the government will not acknowledge these holidays because they are deemed to “take away” from the authority of the King. The holidays are not forbidden, they are just not recognised.

There are additional religious holidays that may be celebrated throughout the country. Many of these holidays are based on the religions of the continent. These holidays are acknowledged by the government because of their cultural heritage, but they are not openly celebrated as a national holiday.

Additional holidays and events may be celebrated within communities or tribes that are not known about outside of those areas.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
14 AprFriGood Friday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
19 AprWedKing's Birthday
25 AprTueNational Flag Day
1 MayMonWorkers' Day
25 MayThuAscension Day
22 JulSatKing Father's Birthday
4 SepMonUmhlanga / Reed Dance Public Holiday
6 SepWedSomholo Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day