Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Tanzania. Please scroll down to view.

Tanzania is an East Africa nation comprising of the mainland country of Tanzania and the Zanzibar archipelago, has established 17 national and nationally recognised religious holidays. All holidays are governed under the Public Holidays Act – Laws of Tanzania, Section 2 Chapter 35, of 1966. All nationally recognised holidays are listed in this Act. However, Parliament does reserve the right to declare a national holiday Ad Hoc, if it sees fit. If Parliament calls for a national holiday, this holiday is celebrated only once that year. Employers are required to comply with their request.

Under the Labor Code of Tanzania, employers are required to give a paid day off to employees on a nationally recognised holiday. If for safety reasons a business must be manned at all times, the employee must receive a different paid day off in lieu of the holiday. Under new laws issued in 1994, employers are no longer required to give holiday pay for holidays that fall on Saturday or Sunday.

Most holidays in Tanzania have established dates that are recognised as a holiday each year. However, some religious holidays are based on a lunar cycle and fall on different dates each year. Because of this, the government of Tanzania asks that employers acknowledge these dates as they are posted in the beginning of each new calendar year.

Religious, Indigenous, Linguistic, Cultural, and Professional Holidays

Tanzania has a very diverse cultural and religious population. Many people within this country still practice indigenous religions and hold special cultural events. There are several holidays within different communities based on languages spoken, tribe associations, and religious preferences. While the government acknowledges these cultural differences, it does not nationally recognise these events as paid holidays.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
12 JanThuZanzibar Revolutionary Day
7 AprFriSheikh Abeid Amani Karume Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
26 AprWedUnion Day
1 MayMonLabour Day
25 JunSunIddi El Fitry / End of Ramadan
26 JunMonIddi El Fitry Holiday
7 JulFriMaonyesho ya Saba Saba
8 AugTueWakulima ya Nane Nane / Peasants' Day
1 SepFriIddi El Haji / Feast of Sacrifice
14 OctSatMwalimu Julius Nyerere Day
30 NovThuThe Prophet's Birthday
9 DecSatRepublic Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day